Dear Gbola


letter006

Dear Gbola,

I hope you’re doing well and life is working out fine for you. Not a day passes by that I don’t think about you.
Six years passed and I still long to see you, sometimes I wonder if you’ve ever seen me and pretended not to if you ever want to? What you think of when you remember the day you locked me up in a room with your brother so he could molest me. I have questions, I want to know why you did it, I was sure I didn’t do anything to deserve that kind of setup. We were going to be good friends but you had to put ripples in a calm sea.

The outcome of that day threw me against the wall and broke me to pieces, my life took a different turn as well as the opinion of myself, I started to view myself as a thing to be used. I just practically lost everything… For so long my peace was missing, I’d think back and replay that afternoon in my head, hoping I could go back in time to change how that day played out.
I walked in circles for hours without clear thoughts, trying to understand why you treated me that way.

I still walk by your grey house almost every day, I look up at that window facing the estate gate and my heart skips again with the regrets of how I should have done some things differently… Should anyone be allowed to go through such pain? The heaviness of even bearing such secret is a lot, it can’t be said in the household I come from, how do I begin to explain. I carried this pain for years but I found hope, I found somewhere to drop all my worries, I found a friend to talk to, I’ve had many nights to cry my pain away. But I still have a vacuum, I feel like I need to have some questions answered then I’d have my final cry and move on with my life.

I hope to see you again because I have unanswered questions but most importantly I need to tell you I’ve forgiven you in person.

Yours Faithfully,

Me

 

About the Writer: Anonymous

 

One thought on “Dear Gbola

  1. Now I’ll be looking at every Gbola like could it be him…. hmm Rapist!! But seriously though this issue of Sexual Abuse isn’t there a practical approach to curbing it or at least providing a means to assist victims and survivors??? I wa su MI oooo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

