A Letter To My JSS1 Best Friend


 

Friends000

Hey girl,

It so nice to be writing to you. Believe it or not, I find myself thinking about you quite a bit at different times and seasons of my life. I remember how we first met. I had heard that a new girl had just transferred from my former school and I was quite curious as to what you would be like. We connected immediately we met. Girl, that bond was stronger than an electrovalent bond. I think what I loved best about you was your free spiritedness and your ability to make anyone who came around you feel very much at ease.

We had so much in common and we could literally just go on and on and on for hours talking about everything and nothing in particular. Also, you seemed to be way ahead of me in the ‘boys’ department!

Somehow, in my young mind, I figured that our friendship would last forever. I mean how could it not? After all, we were Bonny and Clyde, Jack and Jill, Pinkie and the Brain……how could it not last forever?  Well, it ended in JSS3, when you had to transfer to yet another school because you were struggling with your grades. We tried to keep in touch by telephone but we couldn’t make it work. I don’t think I really understood the importance of your friendship up until years later when I got into the university and found that friends like you were rare and scarce. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I made new friends and I totally loved them. But still, the little girl inside me wanted my bestie back. The truth is you brought out a side of me that I haven’t been able to rediscover fully since then. That’s the side of me that’s highly mischievous, highly contagious and highly responsible! Weird combination right? Yes, with you, I could easily traverse both extremes of my personality.

Anyway, I tried to reach out to you on social media about 7 years ago and you blew me off. I suspect it’s because I come across as extremely spiritual on my Facebook. I desperately wanted to tell you that even though I was in a very intense love relationship with Jesus Christ, there was still enough room for you in my heart. I wanted to tell you that I didn’t want to re-enter your life to condemn you or make you feel like a sinner. I wanted to tell you that I didn’t expect you to be perfect or even converted to my faith. I just wanted my friend back. Painfully, I didn’t get the chance to say all these to you, I pray for you though. Whenever I think about you, I pray for you. I don’t know what is going on with you but I get the feeling that you have so many questions and not enough answers.

I always pray that someday, somehow, somewhere, you’ll find the answers to all the questions that plague your mind.

 

Your JSS1 BF

Olamide

 

 

About the Writer: Olamide is a girl with big dreams and big plans, but she deeply longs to be the kind of person who instinctively makes anyone who comes around her feel safe, loved and secure. She knows she’s still a long way off, but she remains ever hopeful!

Leave a Reply

